Searching for Spring in Lund

Once again it was time for the yearly inspiring days at Lund University (established 1666, and today one of  Scandinavia’s largest institutions for education and research). And, once again I arrived early to be able to walk my old streets. ”My” because I studied here for quite some years, and came to love the old buildings and the special athmosphere of this old town.

Lund, in the southern part of  Sweden, has about 83 000 inhabitants. The city is believed to have been founded around 990, when Skåne (Scania) belonged to Denmark. It soon became a major Christian center of the Baltic Sea region, and from 1103 it was the seat of an archbishop. At the center of the city stands the towering Lund Cathedral, built ca 1090–1145. A majestic cathedral which I remember visiting with my school when I was about 8 years old. My most special memory from that visit is of the big astronomical clock.

The early spring morning was cool and sunny, and I walked around the old streets for about an hour and a half – just loving, remembering and musing…Heading for one of the most lovely views I know of here – it’s just around the corner of this charming old shop…

…and, here it is. I left a piece of my heart in this town. Sometimes I feel it like an aching somewhere inside. And, sometimes …well, maybe it’s only the spring breeze…

3 thoughts on “Searching for Spring in Lund

Kommentera

